family business

it wasn’t until fairly recently that i began to consider myself to have come from a line of artists; just in my immediate family, my savtah (maternal grandmother), my older brother, and my aunt are all artists.  my aunt is having a show in a few weeks.  this is her website.

why did i never think of myself as from a family of artists?  was this fact simply overshadowed by other religious and cultural expectations?  was it the assumption that if i showed any creative impulse or talent that i would tuck it away and call it a hobby?

but none of the artists in my family call their art a hobby.  my brother wants to make a career of writing, my savtah and aunt have academic degrees, shows, investments, collectives in their art.

i am in the family business.

About thedoubleequal

TheDoubleEqual is interested in Anais Nin, Smut and subtext, Queer literature, Intersections of oppression, Jewish communities, Memoir, Poetry, All art, Subways, and Violent spiritual awakenings. View all posts by thedoubleequal

Leave a Reply

